Text Only
Accessibility Options
Default Text Size icon Large Text Size icon Largest Text Size icon
Set your Postcode This will personalise pages such as news, events and PCC Priorities with the latest info from your area.

Neighbourhood Policing Awards District Winners Announced


Neighbourhood Policing Awards 2013 - Join in the conversation #NPA2013

Neighbourhood Policing Awards district winners for each category have now been announced following the final stage of judging for this year's ceremony.

The first round of judging took place in August, when a panel of judges representing the Constabulary and Office of the Police and Crime Commissioner sifted through over 500 nominations.

The shortlisted nominees then went on to be considered by a panel which included Police and Crime Commissioner Sue Mountstevens, Chief Constable Nick Gargan, The Bristol Post Deputy Editor Rob Stokes and from sponsors BT Mike Parfitt, who selected district winners for each of the seven categories.

The overall winners for Avon and Somerset in each category will be announced at a special awards dinner on October 24 at Cadbury House Hotel, Congresbury.

Police and Crime Commissioner Sue Mountstevens said: “Reading the nominations was a real joy, as it’s clear what a difference you, as individuals and teams, make to the communities you serve.

“Comments such as ‘this officer has built a big bridge between local young people and the police’ are great endorsements amongst the hundreds of glowing statements the local people made in their nominations.

“I want to congratulate all the winners and those who received a Highly Commended recognition.”

Chief Constable Nick Gargan said: “The standard of nominations this year made the judging process really tough. From reading the citations, it’s clear that the winners mean so much to their communities. In addition to being a uniform presence on the street, they are very much part of the communities that they serve.

“The fact that we received over 500 nominations from communities, residents and businesses across the force is a testament to the hard work and commitment shown by all the neighbourhood and response teams, specials and volunteers in Avon and Somerset.

“I hope the district winners enjoy their night on 24 October and look forward to seeing the reaction on the faces of the overall winners for Avon and Somerset.”

District winners:

Neighbourhood Beat Manager of the Year
Bristol Sean Underwood
North East Adrian Secker
Somerset Raymond Bradley
Neighbourhood Team of the Year
Bristol Avonmouth & Shirehampton
North East Filton
Somerset South Ward
Outstanding Customer Service Award
Bristol Keith Openshaw
North East Jan Bebbington
Somerset Gavin Jennings
HQ Maliha Berridge
PCSO of the Year
Bristol Siful Ullah
North East Daniel Cowley
Somerset Susan Venn-Adams
Response Award
Bristol Helen Summers and Sarah Welch
North East Anthony Swift
North East James Clements
Somerset Amanda Kay
Special Constable of the Year
Bristol Stephen Priday
North East Nick Barbour
Somerset Paul Andrews
Volunteer of the Year
Bristol David Allen
North East Jemima Suffolk
Somerset Taunton Street Pastors





 Highly commended: 


Neighbourhood Beat Manager of the Year – Highly Commended
North East Finbar Simmons
Somerset Anthony Freeman
Neighbourhood Team of the Year – Highly Commended
North East Abbey
Somerset Taunton Town Centre
Outstanding Customer Service Award – Highly Commended
Somerset Katie Maun
PCSO of the Year – Highly Commended
North East Christopher Purvey-Blain
Somerset Benjamin Jacob Samways
Somerset Yvette Mayo
Response Award – Highly Commended
North East Lisa Nelson
Somerset Nick Horne Smith
Somerset Dan King
Special Constable of the Year – Highly Commended
North East Dean Thomas
Somerset Jeremy Lane
Somerset Alan George
Volunteer of the Year- Highly Commended
North East Chris James
Somerset Mary Anne Ghazala
Somerset Fiona Barnes
Somerset Gary Knight

Posted on Wednesday 16th October 2013
Share this
Powered by Contensis